OPEN HEAVENS DAILY DEVOTIONAL. MONDAY 18 MAY 2015. THEME : THE TURNING POINT II.

lamp-light1

MEMORISE : And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from
following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou
lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God: RUTH 1 :
16.

READ : RUTH 1 : 11 – 16.
11 And Naomi said, Turn again, my daughters: why will ye go with me? are
there yet any more sons in my womb, that they may be your husbands?
12 Turn again, my daughters, go your way; for I am too old to have an
husband. If I should say, I have hope, if I should have an husband also to night,
and should also bear sons;
13 Would ye tarry for them till they were grown? would ye stay for them from
having husbands? nay, my daughters; for it grieveth me much for your sakes
that the hand of the LORD is gone out against me.
14 And they lifted up their voice, and wept again: and Orpah kissed her mother
in law; but Ruth clave unto her.
15 And she said, Behold, thy sister in law is gone back unto her people, and unto
her gods: return thou after thy sister in law.
16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following
after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will
lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:

BIBLE IN ONE YEAR : 2 SAMUEL 1 – 2 AND MARK 10 : 32 – 52.

After Ruth lost her husband early in life and there was no child to show for the
relationship, she could never have dreamt that she would be a mother of many
nations through Jesus Christ our Lord ( Mathew 1 : 5 ). Ruth would have been
forgotten but for a turning point in her life when she made the decision in
today’s memory verse. Her sister-in- law, Orpah, kissed their mother-in-law
goodbye and left, but Ruth refused to let go. She was resolute in her decision
to stay with Naomi.

After moving to the land of Isreal with her mother-in-law, Ruth eventually
remarried Boaz, who was a distant relationship to her late husband. This Union
produced an ancestor of our Lord Jesus Christ, Obed ( Ruth 4 : 13 – 14 ).
Anytime I remember the decision I made to serve the Lord in the Redeemed
Christian Church of God, after the founder personally followed up on me by
visiting my residence just after my visit to the Church, I give glory to God.
When I was making the decision to turn away from my self- righteousness and
academic pride, little did I know that I was entering into a lifetime of joy in
the service of the Lord. I am grateful to the Holy Spirit who helped me make
that decision. I pray for you that the Lord will help you to make the decision
that will turn your life around for the best today, in Jesus’Name. The last
mention of Orpah in the Bible was when she was at a crossroads, and she made
the decision to return to her idols.

“And they lifted up their voice, and wept again: and Orpah kissed her mother in
law; but Ruth clave unto her. And she said, behold, thy sister in law is gone
back unto her people, and unto her gods: return thou after thy sister in law.”
Ruth 1 : 14 – 15.
Beloved, what type of situation are you passing through now, and what
decisions are you making? Have you weighed the decision you are making, and is
God being brought into the picture? Think about this and go into prayer as you
go about your business today.

PRAYER POINT :
Holy Spirit Divine, please lead me aright in my decision-making process at all
times.

AUTHOR : Pst. E . A ADEBOYE.

for daily devotional on your Twitter timeline, kindly follow @pattollaa

Leave a Reply

